Archive

Posts Tagged ‘food labels’

Fibromyalgia Food Triggers

April 11th, 2010

I have been spending the past few days researching other foods that might be making me sick. I had such a horrible reaction to pepperoni several days ago that a reader, Joanne Unleashed, thought that maybe it was Monosodium Glutamate (MSG) that was also making me ill. Since going gluten-free this is a flavor enhancer that has made its way out of my diet because I have naturally been eating more fruits and vegetables, and avoiding processed foods.

Livestrong.com seems to confirm that MSG can trigger Fibro flareups. Livestrong also suggests avoiding nightshade vegetables like potatoes and tomatoes, Gluten containing grains, artificial sweeteners and food additives. It also mentions carrageenan as being an ingredient where MSG can hide.

Celebrating Easter, my first holiday gluten-free, was trying as I didn’t get to eat my mom’s homemade rolls. I may have overindulged a bit, and was glutened once, but my recovery has been extremely slow for some reason. The weather is great and I should be feeling so much better.

I’m very glad I came across this Livestrong.com article because I told my husband this morning that I am suspecting my new multivitamin I just started this week as being a culprit in my flare up. When I purchased it I made sure that it was labeled gluten free. After growing frustrated not being able to find a multivitamin in the adult section, I went to the kids vitamins and picked up a chewable tablet. Gluten-free, check!

I am such a dumb-dumb sometimes and this learning curve seems to keep getting steeper. I already cut out artificial sweeteners from my diet over a year ago because I recognized aspartame was leaving a weird taste in my mouth and causing migraines. But guess what this kids vitamin has in it? Both Carrageenan and Sucralose! Ugh. My throat started to swell up this morning after taking my medicines and this is the only change in my meds. I think I’ll just go and bang my head against the wall now.

If anyone has any recommendations on a good gluten-free multivitamin I am all ears. Also, since I may be having a reaction to Carrageenan, I’m now in the market for a fluoride-free, Carrageenan-free toothpaste….uhm maybe I’ll just use good old fashioned baking soda.

Diary , , , , , , , ,

Purely Decadent Dairy Free Ice Cream

March 3rd, 2010

EDIT: Please see the comments for this posting for a great explanation from Mark Clute of Turtle Mountain, and their assurance that their products are gluten free. We apologize for our assumption that their product caused problems for my wife.
Carton of Dairy Free Ice Cream
Well after finishing the carton of Purely Decadent Dairy Free Ice Cream I purchased, I think I realized what may be making me sick. I thought it was the chai I was drinking, but is it this lovely carton of ice cream that is organic and seemingly gluten-free? Apparently the Organic Brown Rice Syrup, can be made through a fermentation process in which barley is sometimes added. See this posting Is Brown Rice Syrup Really Gluten-Free? by Liz Schau

The food labels are so confusing. The FDA definitely needs to better regulate these food labels. For now here is a list of ingredients to avoid at Celiac.com

Update: This posting was revised on March 4, 2010 in response to a comment by Gabriella. She was nice enough to post a web address to the allergy information on the products made by the company, Turtle Mountain, the maker of Purely Decadent. There is now a link directly to their listing of gluten-free products on the recommendations page.

I originally verified this product for being gluten-free by using the online database, Zeer.com. They identify the Brown Rice Syrup as potentially containing gluten.

I picked up another carton of the Purely Decadent Peanut Butter Zig Zig today at the store. Last night when I ate a cup of this ice cream, I did not suffer from an upset stomach, so I am back to believing that it is was the organic chai, or perhaps my stomach wasn’t ready for the whole milk I mixed in the chai. This is all very confusing to me and any further recommendations about going gluten-free would be greatly appreciated.

Update: On March 9, 2010 a comment was received from the quality control manager at Turtle Mountain, the manufacturer of this product. He has explained that Turtle Mountain has never used Brown Rice Syrup in this product, and instead uses Tapioca Syrup. This is an “and/or” statement on the list of ingredients. Click on the comments link to see his full remarks about the product.

Diary , , ,