Spring is just around the corner and that means it is almost time to fill those Easter baskets with yummy gluten-free treats! A few of my favorites are the chocolate covered Peeps, Reese’s Peanut Butter Eggs, and of course you cannot forget the Cadbury creme filled eggs. With so many manufacturers getting on the gluten-free band wagon, there is more to chose from this year than ever. Search the candy database at myglutenfacts.com or see an alphabetical listing here.
I want to urge you to be extra cautious this year as many companies are trying to make an extra buck labeling their products as gluten-free, but maybe they are not really certified. Please read the product labels. There has already been one recall issued for a Peter Rabbit Deluxe Easter Mix that was made by Jelly Belly. The mix contained malted milk balls. Any chocolate that has malt flavoring would not be gluten free as that flavor comes from barley. Have a Happy Easter everyone!
The Easter bunny will be making his visit soon, leaving all kinds of sweet treats. To find out what candy is safe for us gluten intolerant individuals, please visit MyGlutenFacts.com for an updated list. Items on the list are marked with the indicators below:
Cleaned Production Line (CL)
These products do not contain any gluten but are made using the same equipment as products that do. The manufacturer assures us that they consider gluten a top allergen and therefore clean the equipment between runs to ensure that these products are safe from cross-contamination.
Dedicated Production Line (DL)
These products do not contain gluten and are made with machinery that only processes foods without gluten. The manufacturer assures us that they consider gluten a top allergen and therefore take the necessary steps to ensure that these products are safe from cross-contamination.
Dedicated Facility (DF)
These products do not contain gluten and are made in a building where there is no gluten in any other product.
I’m glad to see that one of my favorites, marshmallow peeps are still gluten-free, even the chocolate dipped chicks. Yummy! As always, please be sure to read the ingredients on the package. For example, some companies outsource the production of their candy and so the special run Easter candy may be safe while the regularly sold candy is not (or vice versa). Also some of the Cadbury eggs are safe, and some are not because they have been manufactured in different facilities. So just keep an eye on those ingredients before indulging. I hope you all have a safe and Happy Easter!
I just found the 2010 gluten-free Easter candy list (Via Gluten Free Faces) and was excited to see that Marshmallow Peeps are gluten-free! Though neither myself nor my son are glute-free, I have to be careful not to bring things into the house that would either contaminate my wife’s food or just tempt her. She’s found it hard enough with the new diet, without added complications.