Archive

Posts Tagged ‘Candy’

2012 Gluten Free Easter Candy

March 8th, 2012
Comments Off on 2012 Gluten Free Easter Candy

Chocolate Covered Peeps Spring is just around the corner and that means it is almost time to fill those Easter baskets with yummy gluten-free treats! A few of my favorites are the chocolate covered Peeps, Reese’s Peanut Butter Eggs, and of course you cannot forget the Cadbury creme filled eggs. With so many manufacturers getting on the gluten-free band wagon, there is more to chose from this year than ever. Search the candy database at myglutenfacts.com or see an alphabetical listing here.

I want to urge you to be extra cautious this year as many companies are trying to make an extra buck labeling their products as gluten-free, but maybe they are not really certified. Please read the product labels. There has already been one recall issued for a Peter Rabbit Deluxe Easter Mix that was made by Jelly Belly. The mix contained malted milk balls. Any chocolate that has malt flavoring would not be gluten free as that flavor comes from barley. Have a Happy Easter everyone!

Products , , ,

Sweet Pete’s Gourmet Gluten-Free Candy

October 17th, 2011

Sweet Pete's LogoPeter Behringer has grown up making gourmet chocolates and candies. He founded his company Sweet Pete’s, out of a desire to provide consumers with “Pure, simple, sweets made the traditional way with real cane sugar while using natural flavors and colors.” Sweet Pete’s entire kitchen is gluten free. On their website they do sell products that contain gluten, however they are manufactured at separate facilities. Read more about their gluten-free standards on Pete’s Blog.

To make gourmet candy, you have to start with the best ingredients. The chocolate that is used to make Sweet Pete’s gluten free gourmet sweets is produced by Callebaut. From the Callebaut website:

Abstaining from foodstuff to feel better
In general, the “Free-from” product category includes gluten-free, dairy free, lactose-free and sugar free. Typically, this category “focuses” on people suffering from allergies or food intolerance. The latter term describes an adverse food-induced reaction that does not involve the immune system. Lactose intolerance is one example. In contrast, the immune system of people suffering from food allergy reacts to a certain food causing hives, asthma, or other – in some cases life-threatening reactions. The only way to prevent an allergic reaction is to avoid the triggering food.

Chocolate indulgence for everyone
Barry Callebaut works constantly on making chocolate accessible to everyone, which is one of the keystones of the company.

To me it seems that Callebaut is another company that is looking to provide quality products for people that suffer from various food intolerances. The fact the Sweet Pete’s is using superior ingredients to make their candies made me want to try them even more. Who can resist handmade caramels, lollipops, and chocolates? Not me, that is for sure. Read on for my thoughts about some sweet treats I was lucky enough to sample.

Gourmet Gluten-Free Candy from Sweet Pete's

Sea Salt Caramel, Rocky Road, and Chocolate Dipped Kinnikinnick Kinnitoos

Sea Salt Caramel
A sweet and salty, chewy caramel that is truly decadent. This is so good they sell it by the pound! One of Sweet Pete’s best sellers and it is delicious.

Ingredients: Sugar, Corn Syrup, Sweetened Condensed Milk. Salt, Sea Salt, All Natural Vanilla Extract

Rocky Road
Pictured lower left, the rocky road candy bar has a fluffy marshmallow filling covered in milk chocolate and topped with pecans.

Ingredients: sugar, cocoa fat, dry whole milk, unsweetened chocolate, soy lecithin, sugar, water, corn syrup, honey, corn starch, all natural vanilla flavoring, pecans, Canola oil

Dark Chocolate Sandwich Cookie
Before going gluten-free, Oreos were one of my favorite sweet snacks. Of course Kinnikinnick Kinni-Toos quickly filled the void left behind when I could no longer indulge in Oreos. Perhaps one of my favorite holiday treats was a chocolate dipped Oreo. Years have passed since I have had a dipped Oreo, and this dark chocolate dipped sandwich cookie from Sweet Pete’s did not disappoint. So rich was every bite that I think one cookie could nourish the craving of a chocoholic for a week! I cannot wait to order these dipped in white chocolate. Pictured above on the right, these cookies are also available dipped in milk chocolate.

Lollipops made by Sweet Pete's

Milk Chocolate Pirate Lollipop and Hard Candy Apple Flavored Frankenstein Lollipop

Ingredients: sugar, cocoa mass, emulsifier, natural vanilla flavor, soy lecithin, icing, sugar, flour mix, organic palm oil, cocoa powder

Milk Chocolate Lollipop
Sweet Pete’s makes lollipops in a variety of shapes and flavors fitting the season or your liking. With Halloween nearly here, I sampled a devilishly sweet milk chocolate pirate lollipop that was melt in my mouth good.

Ingredients: sugar, cocoa fat, dry whole milk, unsweetened chocolate, natural vanilla flavor, soy lecithin

Hard Candy Lollipop
My son and I also taste-tested an apple flavored Frankenstein lollipop that was so yummy my son asked if we could buy some more. These lollipops are also vegan!

Ingredients:corn syrup, water, sugar, natural flavors, natural color

Corn Syrup Substitution
Those with corn sensitivity may request their lollipops, taffy and caramels be made with tapioca syrup instead of corn syrup. Products made with the tapioca syrup will cost about 10% more than those made with corn syrup. Obviously, corn syrup is cheaper to produce and thus the reason for an additional charge for this substitution. Customers can call Sweet Pete’s to place a phone order for the substitution. Ingredient substitutions are not available in the online ordering.

My son enjoying a lollipop made by Sweet Pete's.

My son enjoying a lollipop made by Sweet Pete's.

Halloween Special
Sweet Pete’s is offering a deal on the purchase of their lollipops for Halloween. Buy any four lollipops and get 20% off. Also if you buy one pound of the sea salt caramels, you will receive free shipping. These deals will last until 10/31/11, so take advantage and order some of Sweet Pete’s handmade natural gluten-free candy for you and your loved ones this Halloween.

I like that Sweet Pete’s is making candy the old fashioned way and that they are using natural ingredients. Making gluten-free candy for those of us that have had to go without will help individuals with gluten-intolerance feel included during the holidays. Unfortunately, I feel that Sweet Pete’s online ordering could be a bit more allergen friendly. I have multiple food intolerances, and when I was getting ready to place an order I had to contact the company via email to see if I would be able to eat what I wanted to purchase.

I would like to see Sweet Pete’s list the ingredients, or at least the major allergens on its ordering page. Also, it would nice on the gift baskets to know exactly what products will be included in the purchase. I have a nephew that must eat gluten and casein free. I wanted to order him a gift basket for the Holidays, but I will have to phone or email to see what he can have. I really enjoyed this candy and I will become a regular customer of Sweet Pete’s.

Note: Sweet Pete’s provided samples for review purposes, however the opinions represented in this review are 100% my own.

Review , , , ,

2011 Gluten-Free Easter Candy

April 17th, 2011
Comments Off on 2011 Gluten-Free Easter Candy

Yellow Marshmallow PeepsThe Easter bunny will be making his visit soon, leaving all kinds of sweet treats. To find out what candy is safe for us gluten intolerant individuals, please visit MyGlutenFacts.com for an updated list. Items on the list are marked with the indicators below:

Cleaned Production Line (CL)
These products do not contain any gluten but are made using the same equipment as products that do. The manufacturer assures us that they consider gluten a top allergen and therefore clean the equipment between runs to ensure that these products are safe from cross-contamination.

Dedicated Production Line (DL)
These products do not contain gluten and are made with machinery that only processes foods without gluten. The manufacturer assures us that they consider gluten a top allergen and therefore take the necessary steps to ensure that these products are safe from cross-contamination.

Dedicated Facility (DF)
These products do not contain gluten and are made in a building where there is no gluten in any other product.

I’m glad to see that one of my favorites, marshmallow peeps are still gluten-free, even the chocolate dipped chicks. Yummy! As always, please be sure to read the ingredients on the package. For example, some companies outsource the production of their candy and so the special run Easter candy may be safe while the regularly sold candy is not (or vice versa). Also some of the Cadbury eggs are safe, and some are not because they have been manufactured in different facilities. So just keep an eye on those ingredients before indulging. I hope you all have a safe and Happy Easter!

Products, Resources , ,

Gluten free Peeps!

March 12th, 2010
Comments Off on Gluten free Peeps!


Yellow Marshmallow PeepsI just found the 2010 gluten-free Easter candy list (Via Gluten Free Faces) and was excited to see that Marshmallow Peeps are gluten-free! Though neither myself nor my son are glute-free, I have to be careful not to bring things into the house that would either contaminate my wife’s food or just tempt her. She’s found it hard enough with the new diet, without added complications.

Resources , , , ,