Home > Review > Simmons Comforpedic Loft Spectrum Plush Review

Simmons Comforpedic Loft Spectrum Plush Review

September 19th, 2010

Well my new birthday present arrived last weekend. I wish I could say that it was like sleeping on a cloud, but the truth is the bed is much more firm than what we tried in the store. I called the Simmons customer support to figure out why there is such a difference in the softness, so much so that I thought they delivered the firm mattress instead of the plush. Apparently the salesperson neglected to mention that all memory foam beds have to go through a break-in process. Not only is your body adjusting to sleeping on the memory foam, but the foam itself begins to soften over time. The floor models in the store have had many people lay on them and have “broken them in” so to speak. My husband also thinks that the foam has decompressed from the mattresses being stacked on top of each other.

Out-Gassing
If you have chemical sensitivity, you will want to make sure you plan on putting your new mattress in your bedroom and opening your windows for a day or two. We made sure that the room was well ventilated and I didn’t have any problems with my chemical sensitivity and was able to sleep on the bed the first night. After a week, I still occasionally smell the foam if the ceiling fan hasn’t been on the room.

Pressure Points
In just a week I have noticed that my hip pain has decreased and I haven’t woken up with the numb pins-and-needles feeling in my arms or feet. I think the foam is working as designed to release pressure points.

Comfort
While I was disappointed the first few nights because the bed wasn’t as soft as the one we tested in the store, I definitely think that the bed is starting to soften. The Simmons customer support specialist I spoke with said that the amount of time it takes to break in the bed varies from person to person. There wasn’t anything that she could recommend to help speed up the process. She said to just keep sleeping on the bed as we normally would. Jumping on the bed will void the warranty, as will driving your car across it as some people have apparently recommended. While I am pretty happy with our purchase, my husband is not impressed. I’m hoping as the bed continues to soften and as he continues to get use to it that he will change his mind. He told me what mattered most was my comfort level. For whatever reason he has been able to crash just about anywhere, but he doesn’t really like this bed. He loves the cheap memory foam topper on our old bed though, so I think he might come around.

UPDATE (10/3/10): I have been sleeping on my Comforpedic for about 3 weeks now and I absolutely love it. My side of the bed has really softened up just from use. My hubby hasn’t been a fan and so has been sleeping in the old bed some, and we can tell that his side is firmer than mine. I was worried when we first got it that I had made a bad decision, but I am glad that I gave it some time for the bed to soften up. Hubby thinks that for a $1000 bed you shouldn’t have to wait for the comfort, but I think it is worth it.

Review , , ,

  1. Michelle jadaa
    September 19th, 2010 at 18:34 | #1

    For me i found memory foam wonderful for pressure points but i also found it hot.And do not get it wet,for example wet hair etc as it loses it memory apparently once wet 🙂

  2. September 19th, 2010 at 20:33 | #2

    Thanks Michelle. We purchased a high-end waterproof mattress cover to help protect the new bed. This is supposedly a new type of foam that doesn’t sleep so hot. It is just the start of fall and I’ve actually been cold sleeping in the bed. I think it is definitely helping with the pressure points and my circulation.

  3. Regi
    October 18th, 2010 at 12:15 | #3

    My husband and I just bought the same bed and have been sleeping on it since Oct. 10, 2010. Though it’s only been a week, we both really hate it right now. It’s like sleeping on a brick! Not at all like the one we laid on in the store. We also thought we were delivered the firm mattress by mistake! But I’m glad I found your review, and that you and your hubby experienced some of the same things. You’ve given us some hope for this bed, and we’re going to give it more time. I’m a side sleeper, and right now I wake up with a backache after sleeping on my side. I pray it softens up and we end up loving it as much as you do. We’ll see…..

  4. October 18th, 2010 at 22:00 | #4

    Regi,

    I know this may sound silly, but my son and hubby took to wrestling on the bed. You can’t jump on it; that will void the warranty. It may help to crawl around on it on your knees. I did that every night for a week, just crawling across it. It took about 3 weeks for it to really feel as soft as I wanted it to feel. My husband doesn’t understand why they can’t break it in at least a little at the factory. We thought some of the firmness was perhaps due to compression of the mattress while it was being stored. When I called Simmons about it they said that the amount of time it takes to break-in will vary and they couldn’t recommend anything to speed up the process. Apparently someone had asked about driving their car across the mattress to soften it. I thought about rolling a bowling ball across it, but just decided to be patient. It is a shame what you lay on at the store isn’t what is delivered. I really do love it now and I can’t get good sleep on any other mattress. I hope that you grow to love yours too.

  5. Chris Braxton
    February 28th, 2011 at 10:02 | #5

    So, there is an “adjustment period”. So what happens after this “adjustment period” and you still have issues with the mattress? Are you out several thusand dollars? We just bought a Comfor-pedic Blue Sky plush. Though only having it for two nights I feel worse than I did with the old bed. I truly does not feel like the same mattress we laid on in the store. Our next step is purchasing two memory foam pillows in hope of helping our neck and back. Anayone tried returning and exchanging their mattress???

  6. March 2nd, 2011 at 19:40 | #6

    @Chris Braxton
    The Blue Sky plush is a different model from what we have. The return policy depends on the store that you purchased it from. Comforpedic will only accept returns for defects. The store that you purchased the mattress from might have a 30 day comfort guarantee, but they will probably charge you a large return fee. It took about three weeks for me to say that I actually was happy with my purchase. And now I am spoiled. I have a hard time sleeping on any other beds.

  7. Chris Braxton
    March 2nd, 2011 at 20:19 | #7

    We ended up buying new pillows (memory foam) and are still trying out different positions on the adjustable base. It is better. We did talk to the store we purchased it from and they are saying the same thing…give it time. At least I am sleeping and my body doesn’t hurt as before. My husband could sleep on a rock. Wish I could say the same!

  8. July 16th, 2012 at 08:33 | #8

    Thanks Kelly for pointing me to your follow-up post with your review. We are looking for a mattress for my husband who has been sleeping on AeroBeds for quite some time. However, he has gone through 3 to 4 of them in about a years time. They just seem get holes in them from his weight I guess. He is 250 pounds and 6′ tall, but he always go to the middle of a queen size and keeps it under-inflated. I thought the memory foam in a soft style would be okay for him, but he is not a patient man and I really don’t think he will give it that breaking in time. I’ve had my bed for 8 years and love it. Mine is called SAM (self-adjusting air mattress) and it has air chambers inside a box-spring style mattress. It is not electrical, but has dials on both sides of the King mattress to adjust from firm to soft. I keep my side towards the firm. I set the other side to the softest and he always complained about it, but now he has been sleeping on it and says it’s okay, until we find what to get for him. Our dog also sleeps in the King, but hubby slept on his recliner last night because our dog was being restless and that annoyed him! I guess I’m back to square one because I know him and he will not wait for it to be broken in. I am so happy that I found your review and follow-up link!!
    ☺ Sandi

  9. July 16th, 2012 at 13:59 | #9

    Sandi,
    I must say that I was pretty miserable during the breaking in period. I’m not sure if the Tempurpedic would have the same breaking in period, but I know the cloud that I tried out in the store was quite heavenly. I just couldn’t afford it. I think that they have a comfort guarantee, but you might have to pay a restocking fee if you return it. I hope that you are able to find something that will work for your husband.

  10. Tori
    September 8th, 2012 at 04:17 | #10

    Wow, I did not know a mattress could actually be painful! Just purchased a Simmons Comfor Pedic Loft mattress in a King, to replace a Tempur Pedic Queen, BIG MISTAKE! I am farmiliar with the “break in” period having owned a Temper Pedic, no comparison! This mattress is going back to the store tomorrow and I am switching back, sadly, I do not recommend this mattress. However, I do love my Tempur Pedic, take my advise, spend the extra money it is worth every penny and get a Tempur Pedic.

  1. July 15th, 2012 at 15:24 | #1